Do Not Trust in Princes

DO NOT TRUST IN PRINCES

By Wayne S. Walker

     “Do not put your trust in princes, nor in a son of man, in whom there is no help” (Psalm 146:3).  I have always been interested in politics because I believe that a Christian has a civic obligation to the government of the nation in which he lives (note Romans 13:1-7, 1 Peter 2:13-17).  I also believe that my civic obligations are one way that I can fulfill my responsibility before God to be the salt of the earth and the light of the world (Matthew 5:13-16).

     One aspect of this responsibility is expressed by the statement, “Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a reproach to any people” (Proverbs 14:34).  Therefore, I choose the political party with which I identify myself and the candidates whom I support based upon how likely they are to reflect a respect for the principles of righteousness.  At the same time, I try very hard not to make my political convictions any kind of standard by which I judge others, especially my brothers and sisters in Christ.

     However, there have been times when I have been disappointed.  Politicians for whom I have voted have failed to do what they promised and what I expected of them.  Even the party in which I claim membership has sometimes strayed away from what it says that it stands for and what I believe to be right.  While this always perturbs me, I do not put my trust in these “princes” because they are but “sons of men” who are weak, frail, and subject to making mistakes.

     Rather, I put my trust in the living and true God who “rules in the kingdom of men, and gives it to whomever He chooses” (Daniel 4:33).  He still sits on the throne of the universe and works out all things according to the good pleasure of His will to accomplish His divine purpose.  Oh, I still try to elect the people who I think will best represent His virtues, and am glad when they win.  But my trust is not in them.  “Happy is he who has the God of Jacob for his help, whose hope is in the LORD his God” (v. 5).

Leave a Reply

