Precious Thoughts

PRECIOUS THOUGHTS

by Wayne S. Walker

     “How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!  How great is the sum of them!” (Psalm 139:17).  The 139th Psalm is a song of praise to God by David for the Lord’s omniscience, omnipresence, and omnipotence.  David understands that God is omniscient or all knowing, because he says, “O Lord, You have searched me and known me.  You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off” (vs. 1-2).  God knows everything about us.  Of course, He knows when we sin, even if it is in secret and no one else sees it.  But He also knows when we do good to others and go unrewarded or when we suffer for His name’s sake without being noticed by anyone else.  Yes, He knows what is in our hearts.  “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain it” (v. 6).

     God is omniscient because He is omnipresent or all present.  David asks, “Where can I go from Your Spirit?  Or where can I flee from Your presence?”  Then he answers, “If I ascend into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there” (vs. 7-8).  God is a person—a spiritual one, to be sure, but nonetheless a person, and His person dwells in heaven.  Jesus taught us to pray to “Our Father in heaven.”  But precisely because He is a spiritual person, not a physical or corporeal one, His spirit or presence exists everywhere on earth and even in the entire universe.  There is simply no place where we can hide or be hidden from God.  “Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You” (v. 12).

     And God is omnipotent or all powerful.  The almighty power of God was demonstrated in creation, and in particular the creation of mankind.  David told God, “For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb.  I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well” (vs. 13-14).  What is so interesting is that the very atheists and unbelievers who in our time are so insistent that there is no such thing as God and strive to turn people away from accepting Him are themselves evidence that just as the existence of a watch implies the existence of a watch maker, so their own existence implies the existence of a Creator.  “Your eyes saw my substance being yet unformed.  And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them” (v. 16).  These thoughts are truly precious and great!

Leave a Reply

