“The Days of Our Lives”

THE DAYS OF OUR LIVES

By Wayne S. Walker

     This article has no relationship to the long-running television soap opera of the same name.  Rather, it is taken from a statement found in God’s word.  Moses wrote, “For all our days have passed away in Your wrath; we finish our years like a sigh.  The days of our lives are seventy years; and if by reason of strength they are eighty years, yet their boast is only labor and sorrow; for it is soon cut off and we fly away” (Psalm 90:9-10).  If we average seventy and eighty, we come up with seventy-five, which is a conveniently round number for dividing our time on earth into three periods as we compare our lives to a day with morning, midday, and evening.  Yes, to a teenager, seventy-five sounds like a long way off, but to a fifty-year-old it really does not seem quite so old any more.

     The morning of our lives would be from birth to age twenty-five.  Obviously, I do not recall when I was born, but there are many events of my childhood and early years that do stand out in my mind.  I can still remember quite clearly when I was ten, the age of my younger son, and a fourth grader in Miss Sara Lou Warren’s class at New Market Elementary School, as well as getting my driver’s license at sixteen, graduating from Hillsboro High School at eighteen, graduating from Florida College at twenty, and beginning my first preaching work.  The midday of our lives would be from twenty-five to fifty.  Again, I can remember getting married at twenty-nine and the arrival of our two sons, the first when I was thirty-eight and the second at forty-two, as well as buying our first home.

     The evening of our lives would be from fifty to seventy-five or whenever death occurs.  It is quite shocking for me to realize that by these calculations, I have now, at age fifty-two, passed into the evening portion of my life–early evening, to be sure, but still moving relentlessly toward the setting of the sun.  Truly, the years have gone by “like a sigh.”  Jesus also compared our lives to a day.  “I must work the works of Him who sent Me while it is yet day; the night is coming when no man can work” (John 9:4).  The coming of night, of course, represents the time of death.  Based on this statement, the hymn writer urges us to “Work for the night is coming, When man’s work is done.”  Yes, night is coming.  Time is a-wasting.  Let us get busy.

Leave a Reply

