“I Shall Not Be Moved”

"I SHALL NOT BE MOVED"

by Wayne S. Walker

     "He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved" (Psalm 62:6).  The heading of Psalm 62 says, "To the Chief Musician, to Jeduthan, a Psalm of David."  Apparently, David dedicated the Psalm to the Chief Musician who was named Jeduthun.  The summary in the New King James Version says, "A Calm Resolve to Wait for the Salvation of God."  We do not know exactly when this Psalm was written nor what circumstances prompted it, but we do know that David experienced many trials and tribulations in his life when he looked to God for strength and refuge.  Because David fully trusted in God as his rock, salvation, and defense, he said, "I shall not be moved."  The footnote says that the word "moved" means "shaken."

     On Friday, April 18, 2008, my wife Karen, younger son Jeremy, and I were all awakened a little after 4:30 a. m. by the shaking of the beds, the vibration of the floor, the rattling of the windows, and a rumbling sound outside that lasted for an intense but relatively short period of time.  (Our older son Mark slept through it.)  When the radio went off at 6:00, the first item on the news told us that we had experienced an earthquake of 5.2 magnitude centered about 150 miles east of St. Louis, MO, where we then lived.  The reports of damage were very minimal.  Then about 10:30 a. m. the same morning, while I was sitting at my desk reading some online information on the computer about the tremor, there was an aftershock of around 4.5 magnitude, with the same effects only to a lesser degree.  It was our first actual earthquake, and Jeremy was excited!

     There are many troubles and difficulties which may arise in our lives to produce "tremors" to our hearts–serious illness, loss of income, financial problems, the death of a loved one, accidents, family strife, hardships on the job, perhaps even some form of persecution or ridicule for our faith, our increasing awareness of our own mortality, and so on.  While we know that God cares for us, He has not necessarily promised to remove all forms of suffering or pain from our lives.  However, if we, like David, will look to Him as our rock, salvation, and defense when any of these thing happen, we too can say, "I shall not be moved."  He will provide whatever we need so that we shall not be shaken.  Mary James wrote, "In the rifted Rock I’m resting, Safely sheltered, I abide; There no foes nor storms molest me, While within the cleft I hide."

Leave a Reply

