Light and Truth

LIGHT AND TRUTH

By Wayne S. Walker

     "Oh, send out Your light and your truth!  Let them lead me; let them bring me to Your holy hill and to Your tabernacle" (Psalm 43:3).  When it is dark and we need to see, we want light.  So we flip a switch, light a candle, turn on the flashlight, or whatever.  Darkness is often used in scripture as a symbol of sin, and this world is certainly a dark place, spiritually speaking.  We need light to show us the right way.  The Psalmist asks God to send His light, and He has!  "Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path" (Psalm 119:105).  Yet, the Psalmist asks God to send out His light and His truth.  Of course, we know what God’s truth is.  "Sanctify them by Your truth.  Your word is truth" (John 17:17).  God’s light and God’s truth are not two different things.  This is merely the Psalmist’s poetic way of letting us know that God’s light is found in His truth which is His word.

     Why does the Psalmist want God’s light and truth?  "Let them lead me."  While many people are determined to find their own way in life, Solomon reminds us, "There us a way that seems right to a man, but its end is the way of death" (Proverbs 16:25).  The prophet knew that "it is not in man who walks to direct his steps" (Jeremiah 10:23).  My own experience confirms this.  When I have tried to make my own way, it usually ended up in a mess.  But when I follow God’s way, things are always better.  "He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake" (Psalm 23:3).  "I was not ever thus, nor prayed that Thou Shouldst lead me on; I loved to choose and see my path; but now Lead Thou me on" (John Henry Newman).

      What is the goal of having God’s light and truth lead us?  "Let them bring me to Your holy hill and to Your tabernacle."  In this dark world of sin, following God’s light and truth will bring us to His holy hill, that spiritual Mount Zion on earth, which is the Lord’s church, to which all who obey God’s word and are saved from sin come (Psalm 15:1-5, Hebrews 12:22-24).  However, God’s has something even greater for his people, and His ultimate design is to bring us to His eternal tabernacle so that we may dwell with Him in heaven.  "Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever" (Psalm 23:6).  "E’en death’s cold wave I will not flee, Since God through Jordan leadeth me" (Joseph Henry Gilmore). 

Leave a Reply

